Travelling to or around Maryland this summer? The experienced attorneys at Azrael, Franz, Schwab & Lipowitz discuss Maryland’s traffic laws to help keep you and your loved ones informed while on the road.
Tens of thousands of people are expected to visit or travel through the state of Maryland this summer. If you are headed here from out of state or know someone that is, this list of Maryland traffic laws will be in your best interest to review.
Move over law
If an emergency vehicle or tow truck is operating on the shoulder of a Maryland highway, drivers must move to an available lane not immediately adjacent to the stopped vehicle, as long as it is safe to do so. If unable to change lanes, individuals are required to significantly slow down when passing. Drivers who do not follow this rule can face a penalty of $110.00 and potentially one point on their driver’s license. A violation involving a collision with injury could cost the driver a fine up to $750.00 and three points.
This particular law includes speeding, unsafe passing, following too closely or failing to yield to the right of way. Not abiding by this law may result in a fine of $370.00 and five points on your license.
Use of hand-held devices
The use of such is strictly prohibited for the driver while the vehicle is in motion. A hands-free or Bluetooth device should be used if the driver must talk while driving. Texting or talking with a device in hand is strictly prohibited and enforced. The penalty for this violation is a fine of $83.00 for the first offense, $140.00 for a second offense and $160.00 for a third or subsequent offense.
Drivers, front seat passengers and rear seat passengers are required by law to wear seat belts. All occupants under 16 years of age are to be restrained in a seat belt or a child safety belt. Children under eight years old must be secured in a child safety seat. . Violations of this law carry a fine of $83.00.
If a driver is involved in a minor motor vehicle crash and there are no injuries, it is important that they remove their vehicle from the roadway to a safe area. It is required by law that motorists exchange registration and insurance information. Individuals are not allowed to leave the scene of a crash where an injury or property damage has occurred, this a serious offense and may result in jail time and/or up to 12 points on a license.
If a person needs emergency police, fire or medical services, it is imperative to call 911. If a person is on an interstate and witnesses a traffic crash, an impaired driver, or needs assistance, safely dial #77 to be connected to the nearest Maryland State Police barrack.
Road and traffic conditions
For the latest information, visit www.md511.com or safely dial 511 for road and traffic conditions.
The name of the driver must be “authorized” for their rental vehicle on the agreement. Driving a rental vehicle without authorization may result in a traffic citation that requires a court appearance in Maryland.
Drivers are considered to be impaired with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .07. Per se evidence of operating under the influence is a .08 BAC. Violators will be arrested and if convicted, may receive up to a year in jail and/or face a $1,000.00 fine.
Every state has its own specific traffic laws and procedures. When travelling through a new state, it is essential to be aware of the legal parameters you wouldn’t have otherwise known. If you neglect to do so, it could mean points on your license, fines or even jail time. For more information regarding Maryland traffic laws, contact experienced attorneys at Azrael, Franz, Schwab & Lipowitz today.